Manufacturing process

The production of photo albums and high quality stationery products “made in Germany” takes place in Bamberg. Goldbuch would like to invite you to have a look into our virtual tour, so you can experience the main three steps in the production of Goldbuch photo albums: the “production of the blocs”, “production of the covers” and “binding”.

Step one: production of the blocks

Goldbuch stores a huge volume of meter high paper rolls to ensure, even for big orders, the availability of this material. A special machine produces blocks out of these rolls, which will be the “heart” of the photo album. Afterwards the blocks are stored in a middle warehouse to continue with the production process according to order request.

Step two: production of the covers

With the book cover manufacturing machine, solid and robust photo albums are manufactured out of several top quality raw materials. This machine is part of the latest technology machine made in Germany for this purpose.

Step three: binding of the photo albums

The standard sizes 24x24cm, 27x31cm, 30x31cm as well as 34x35cm are bound mechanically. This task is carried out by the modified KOLBUS binder, which is able to produce around 2.500 photo albums per day. Several employees operate along with this machine in order to guarantee a professional and perfect binding of the block with the book cover.

A lot of handmade work and final production steps

Although modern machinery makes a big part of the manufacturing process easier, the main part of the production is handmade work. Some parts of the production are manufactured by homeworkers and others in workplaces specially equipped where fabric lamination, decoration of photo albums with accessories, pictures, medallions or even the binding of smaller photo albums will be manufactured with passion for the detail. Also the spiral and the post bound albums are accordingly turned and screwed manually. This operational method guarantees the most perfect and accurate production possible. Afterwards, the product will be packed and sealed, labelled and finally stored in the warehouse or directly delivered to the customer.

Extraordinary good

"The average gives the world is durability, the unusual it's value“ (Oscar Wilde) – Goldbuch stands for extraordinary products, made by people for people, with attention to detail.

Produktion

Die Produktion der Fotoalben und hochwertigen Papeterie-Erzeugnisse am Standort Bamberg sorgt für höchste Qualität "made in Germany". Gerne nehmen wir Sie mit auf einen kurzen Rundgang, so dass Sie die drei großen Produktionsschritte „Buchblock“, „Buchdecken“ und „Einhängen“ in der Fertigung eines Goldbuch-Fotoalbums kennenlernen können:

1. Schritt: Buchblock-Produktion

Die Produktion beginnt in Bamberg mit Meter hohen Papierrollen. Daraus produziert eine spezielle Maschine Buchblocks, die das „Innenleben“ der Fotoalben darstellen. Bereits an dieser Stelle erfasst das System die unfertigen Erzeugnisse, um frühzeitig mögliche Engpässe zu erkennen. Anschließend wandern sie in ein Zwischenlager und werden auftragsbezogen weiterverarbeitet.

2. Schritt: Buchdecken-Erstellung

Mit der Buchdeckenmaschine lassen sich aus verschiedensten, hochwertigen Rohstoffen feste und robuste Fotoalbum-Decken herstellen. 

3. Schritt: Einhängen der Fotoalben

Die Standard-Fotoalben der Größe 24x24 cm, 27x31 cm, 30x31 cm sowie 34x35 cm werden maschinell eingehängt. Diese Aufgabe übernimmt die modifizierte Einhängemaschine. Mehrere Mitarbeiter bedienen das System, mit dem sich die Buchblocks und die Buchdecken professionell verbinden lassen.

Viel Handarbeit und finale Produktionsschritte

Auch wenn moderne Maschinen viele Prozesse erleichtern, geschieht ein Großteil der Produktion auch heute noch in Handarbeit. Zum Teil in Heimarbeit, zum Teil an speziell ausgerichteten Handarbeitstischen werden Stoffkaschierungen, die Dekoration der Fotoalben mit Bildern, Accessoires und Medaillons oder auch das Einhängen der kleineren Fotoalben mit viel Liebe zum Detail durchgeführt. Auch die Spiralalben und Schraubalben werden per Handarbeit eingedreht bzw. verschraubt. Durch diese Arbeitsweise ist eine nahezu fehlerfreie Produktion dieser Formate möglich. Anschließend erfolgen das Einschweißen der Artikel sowie die entsprechende Etikettierung, mit der sich die Produkte entweder einlagern oder direkt an den Kunden liefern lassen. Goldbuch steht für außergewöhnliche Produkte, die von Meschen für Menschen und mit Liebe zum Detail gefertigt sind.

Außergewöhnlich gut

„Das Durchschnittliche gibt der Welt ihren Bestand, das Außergewöhnliche ihren Wert.“ (Oscar Wilde) – Goldbuch steht für außergewöhnliche Produkte, die von
Menschen für Menschen und mit Liebe zum Detail gefertigt sind.